CornHill.Org | CornHillArtsFestival.Com | Corn Hill Store

Hayden House ~ 1854

2012 Corn Hill Holiday Tour of Homes Hayden House 1

The Hayden House (Apartment # 7) on South Fitzhugh Street, 1854

Howard Residence

This Italianate landmark, named for Rochester mayor Charles Hayden, was damaged by fire and had been vacant for twelve years before the Loftus Brothers—Tom, Jim and John—bought it in July of 1982. Originally built as a single-family home, the brick mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the 1960s, it housed eleven apartments out of which the Loftus restoration created seven apartments that range in size from 650 to 1,200 square feet. They include five working fireplaces with original mahogany mantels that have been stripped and refinished. Original ceiling moldings have also been restored or replaced with custom-made moldings to match.

In 1985, a charming, columned, Colonial wood slat porch was added to this 1,000 square foot apartment. Upon entering, visitors will view a tasteful contemporary interior with 22 windows and 4 skylights that provide a light and airy ambiance. A winding, open oak staircase leads to all three floors. The second floor features a galley kitchen and a delightful window seat where guests can view downtown Rochester. The third floor accommodates a small office, a tiled bathroom, and a spacious bedroom with vaulted ceilings and an interior double-gated stained glass window that opens to the floor below.